October 4, 2017

Incumbents win city council races, one headed to runoff

Albuquerque city councilors in May, 2015.

Tuesday night’s drama centered around  the mayoral election (the race for second, anyway) and the healthy workforce ordinance.

But a majority of seats on the City Council were up for grabs as well. Four incumbents ran and each won outright. Candidates had to reach 50 percent to avoid a runoff on Nov. 14, just as in the mayoral election.

In the one open seat, which Dan Lewis vacated to run for mayor, two candidates will face each other in a runoff election.

In that race, District 5, Robert Aragon finished with 39.31 percent in election night unofficial numbers with 51 of 53 voting centers reporting. Cynthia Borrego finished in second with 37.87 percent.

Incumbents Klarissa Peña in District 3, Diane Gibson in District 7 and Don Harris in District 9 each won easily.

In District 2, Ken Sanchez also won without needing a runoff. He received 51.82 percent of the vote.

Peña received 67.85 percent of the vote, while her opponent Christopher Rudolph Sedillo received 32.42 percent.

Gibson easily defeated Eric L. Lucero, 67.5 percent to 32.5 percent.

Harris had two opponents, but still easily cleared 50 percent with 57.29 percent of the vote. His closest opponent was with Byron Powdrell with 26.48 percent. Paul Ryan McKenney finished in third with 16.23 percent.