December 6, 2018

Lujan Grisham’s transition members on education, Indian affairs

Darren Phillips/New Mexico State University

Garrey Carruthers in May 2013, during his time as president of New Mexico State University.

After two terms of clashing with the governor, teachers unions will have a loudervoice, at least during the transition period.

Governor-elect Michelle Lujan Grisham is rushing toward her inauguration on Jan. 1 and is working with various people to fill her administration in different areas, including education and Indian Affairs.

Previously: Lujan Grisham names transition team for environment, energy and water

Earlier in November, Lujan Grisham named former New Mexico Governor Garrey Carruthers, former Santo Domingo Governor Everett Chavez and Principal and CEO of the Native American Community Academy Kara Bobroff as co-chairs of the Education and Indian Affairs transition committee.

Last week, Lujan Grisham named more people to her transition team.

Public Education Department 

Wendy Alberson, educator, Las Cruces Public Schools

Ellen Bernstein, president, Albuquerque Teachers Federation

Charles Bowyer, executive director, National Education Association-New Mexico

Joan Day Baker, early childhood education expert

John Dyrcz, political director, American Federation of Teachers NM

Teresa Lynn Frasier, member, Indian Education Advisory Council

Charles Goodmacher, National Education Association of New Mexico, UniServ Director

Matt Henderson, executive director, Organizers in the Land of Enchantment (OLÉ)

Maria Jaramillo, executive director, Central Region Education Cooperative

Debbie Leyba-Angel, head special education teacher, Lew Wallace Elementary School

Ruth Ann Litchfield, mayor of Tucumcari & retired educator

Stephanie Ly, president, American Federation of Teachers New Mexico

Sofia Martinez, special education educator, Rio Grande High School

David Morales, educator, Las Cruces Public Schools

Sharmyn Munoz, principal, Red Rock Elementary School

Allan Oliver, executive director, Thornburg Foundation

Jeremy Oyenque, Santa Clara Pueblo director of education

Mariana Padilla, district director, office of Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham

Betty Patterson, president, National Education Association of New Mexico

Barbara Perea-Casey, city councilor, Las Vegas and former state representative

Trina Raper, recently retired from Santa Fe Public Schools, Emerge graduate

Shannon Rivera, early childhood education

Arsenio Romero, superintendent, Deming Public Schools

Elaine Romero, former principal and school superintendent

Edward Tabet-Cubero, executive vice president for early learning, United Way Early Learning Center at Kaune

Victoria Tafoya, director of operations, Dual Language Education of New Mexico

Beata Thorstensen, district data administrator, Rio Rancho Public Schools

Lillian Torrez, superintendent, Taos Municipal Schools

Dr. Karen Trujillo, director of K-12 outreach, The Alliance for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning

Michelle Valverde, education policy analyst

Jessica Velasquez, former educator, Albuquerque Public Schools

Higher Education

Richard Bailey, president, Northern New Mexico College

Randy Grissom, former president, Santa Fe Community College

Dan Howard, former provost, New Mexico State University

Daniel Lopez, past president, New Mexico Tech

Major Lindsay Mayo Fincher, English professor, New Mexico Military Institute

Bonnie Quintana Harbin, career technical education

Dr. Carlos Romero, associate vice president of research & economic development for New Mexico Tech

Joseph Shepard, president, Western New Mexico University

Nasha Torrez, dean of students, University of New Mexico

Kathy Winograd, president of Central New Mexico Community College

Richard Wood, interim provost, University of New Mexico

Indian Affairs

Regis Pecos, former governor, Cochiti Pueblo

Gabe Aguilar, vice president, Mescalero Apache Tribe

Conroy Chino, legislative committee co-chair, All Pueblo Council of Governors

Alray Nelson, board chair, Equality NM & Diné Equality

Paul Torres, chairman, All Pueblo Council of Governors

Maxine Velasquez, general counsel, Tesuque Pueblo

Alvin Warren, New Mexico director, Kellogg Foundation