April 25, 2023

NM Political Report wins 10 regional journalism awards

This week NM Political Report won ten awards at the Society of Professional Journalists Top of the Rockies annual awards, including five first-place awards.

NM Political Report competed in the small newsrooms category against news outlets in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming. 

The awards include a 1st place award in the Podcast category for Growing Forward, a two-season podcast series in collaboration with New Mexico PBS. Former NM Political Report writer Andy Lyman co-hosted the podcast with Megan Kamerick. Kevin McDonald produced the podcast.

The other awards, all by NM Political Report writers, are listed below.

NM Political Report is a non-profit website that does not accept any ads. We are reader-funded and if you would like to support our award-winning journalism, you can do so here.


  • Matthew Reichbach

    Matthew Reichbach is the editor of the NM Political Report. The former founder and editor of the NM Telegram, Matthew was also a co-founder of New Mexico FBIHOP with his brother and one of the original hires at the groundbreaking website the New Mexico Independent. Matthew has covered events such as the Democratic National Convention and Netroots Nation and formerly published, “The Morning Word,” a daily political news summary for NM Telegram and the Santa Fe Reporter.