December 5, 2018

Lujan Grisham names transition team for environment, energy and water

Laura Paskus

Rep. Michelle Lujan-Grisham

Shortly after Michelle Lujan Grisham was elected governor, she started assembling her transition teams for various state agencies.

In November, Lujan Grisham announced that Sarah Cottrell Propst and Toby Velasquez will head the Natural Resources Committee, which reviews the agencies that oversee water, energy and environment issues. Velasquez is deputy director of New Mexico State Parks. Cottrell Propst is executive director of Interwest Energy Alliance and served as the energy and environmental policy advisor to Gov. Bill Richardson from 2006 to 2010.

Over the weekend, Lujan Grisham announced transition teams for the Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department; the Environment Department; the Office of the State Engineer and the Interstate Stream Commission. Transition team members help assess the agencies and the issues they will face in the coming administration.

New Mexico Environment Department Transition Team:

Beth Beloff, chair, Sustainable Santa Fe Commission

Sandy Buffett, former executive director, Conservation Voters New Mexico

Charles de Saillan, staff attorney, New Mexico Environmental Law Center

Maureen Gannon, executive director of Environment, Safety and Land for PNMR Services

John Mitchiner, former senior manager of Computational Science Research and Development, Sandia National Laboratories

Jason Sandel, executive vice president, Aztec Well

Gabriel Vasquez, Las Cruces City Councilor

Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Transition Team:

Kyle Armstrong, vice president, Armstrong Energy

Heather Balas, executive director, New Mexico First

Bryn Davis, El Paso Electric

Anna DeLay, educator

Jon Goldstein, director of environmental affairs, Environmental Defense Fund

Laura McCarthy, associate state director, The Nature Conservancy – New Mexico

Roberta Salazar Henry, former assistant director, New Mexico Department of Game and Fish

Juan Sanchez, president, Chilili Land Grant; member New Mexico Acequia Commission

Don Schreiber, rancher

Garrett VeneKlasen, former executive director, New Mexico Wildlife Federation

Office of State Engineer and the Interstate Stream Commission Transition Team:

Paula Garcia, executive director, New Mexico Acequia Association

Peter Garcia, Governor, Ohkay Owingeh

Kyle Harwood, attorney

Steve Hernandez, attorney

Alvin Jones, retired New Mexico State District judge

Adrian Oglesby, director, Utton Transboundary Resource Center, University of New Mexico School of Law

Bruce Thomson, professor, Civil Engineering and Water Resources Program, University of New Mexico

Stacy Timmons, hydrology program manager, New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources, New Mexico Tech

Ralph Vigil, chair, New Mexico Acequia Commission